The Home-Maker’s Stuff – Knitting, Baking, Gardening

January 4, 2010 at 12:44 Leave a comment

Everybody and their friends seems to be blogging about knitting these days. So once in a while I will indulge as well – blog about my latest knitting project, about the upcoming Christmas baking and gardening. I have to admit, even I threw in the towel and used an iron-based “snailicide” to prevent the snails from eating my newly planted seedlings (I had to replant three times!).

A new year

The Christstollen and the christmas cookies are eaten, the gingerbread house is dismantled, and the christmas tree is turning brown and loosing its needles. It needs to go strong for a few more days, then it is Epiphany and it may be taken down (Rumour has it, though, that my husband’s great-aunt left her christmas tree standing until it was time to decorate for Easter).

The garden has been productive – we are already harvesting tomatoes, pumpkins, marrows, squashes and peas. My daughter love to pick the tomatoes, and usually eats them straight from the plant. She also love the pumpkin soup that I conjured up – it’s a great recipe that I got from a friend of my mother-in-law.

Sadly, however, that we need to leave this all behind very soon. I received an appointment to a position in France (Paris!) shortly before Christmas, and this means that we need to pack up here, and leave the Lynedoch valley that was home for us for quite a few years. However, the prospect of living in Paris is very exciting, and I’m also very much looking forward to my new job. Now we need to find a small house in or around Orsay, and get everyone and everything over there!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

on the knitting front

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archive

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
follow us in feedly
Find me on ravelry

Find me on ravelry

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Categories


