on the knitting front

January 10, 2010 at 13:33 Leave a comment

Believe it our not, I’ve already finished three knitting projects this year. Admittedly, these were very easy and quick-to-finish projects, but nevertheless. The first to be finished was a pair of slippers (intended as birthday present for my mom-in-law), a pair of slippers for my daughter, and a vest for my daughter – in very bright colours!

The slippers for my mom-in-law

I used Fischerwolle “Hausmarke”, following the slipper pattern provided by Coats. Find it here (in German only). I’ve knitted them before, but without the cable pattern – they are very comfortable.

Here are the slippers I knitted for my daughter. For those, I used Regia 6-ply “Polar color” that I took double. I simply knitted a pair of socks and sewed on a pair of leather soles.

Katharina's slippers

She loves them, and even wears them at 30°C!

Here another view of the two pairs.

Slippers

The vest just about fits – maybe I should have gone for the size larger. It’s really nice, and was finished within a few evenings, so I’ll certainely knit another one.

Katharina in her new vest

The pattern (model 4558) can be found in Schachenmayr Inspiration No 44. I used Catania Color “Afrika” – I love these bright colours.

The vest in detail

Now I just need to “hide” the threads. Speaking of loose ends – there a few things that need finishing touches – mostly sewing in of the sleeves, which I don’t really like. But I need to get down to it and finish them soon, or otherwise my daughter will outgrow them before she has even worn them.

Unfinished business

But in the meantime, I’ve got another pair of slippers on the needles (in preparation for France, where one needs slippers a bit more than in South Africa), and yesterday evening, I’ve committed to knit 2 pairs of socks – a belated wedding present for very good friends. The liked the colours I already had at home, so no shopping necessary.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The Home-Maker’s Stuff – Knitting, Baking, Gardening moving

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archive

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
follow us in feedly
Find me on ravelry

Find me on ravelry

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Categories


