Fuer die Fuesse / For the feet

September 17, 2012 at 13:52 3 comments

In der letzten Woche habe ich fleissig gestrickt – der Valentine Pullover fuer’s Toechterchen ist (fast) fertig – es muessen jetzt nur noch die Aermel eingesetzt und die Faeden vernaeht werden. Dazu hatte ich aber am Abend vor meinem Flug nach Montreal keine Lust mehr. Ausserdem stand Koffer packen an. Bilder davon gibt es noch nicht – aber der Pulli passt – das haben wir schon getestet.

I was very busily knitting last week. The sweater “Valentine” for my daughter is (nearly) ready, I only need to set in the sleeves and weave in the ends. However, I did not feel like doing this the evening before I left for Montreal. And I had to pack my suitcase. I don’t have pictures of the finished sweater yet, but we do have already established that it fits.

Mein “Mitnahmeprojekt” der Woche waren die BalletSchool Dropout Sockettes – und die habe ich in Bus und Zug fertiggenadelt. Fotografiert wurden sie am fruehen Morgen im Hotel in Montreal. Und jetzt trage ich sie gerade.

My “take-with-me” project for the last week were the BalletSchool Dropout Sockettes. I knit them on the bus and train on my way to work. They were photographed this morning in the hotel in Montreal. And I am wearing them now.

Ausserdem wollte ich auf dem Flug nach Montreal testen, ob man nun im Flugzeug stricken kann/darf, oder nicht. Da der Flug ein Tagflug ueber 7 Stunden war, und ich mit ziemlicher Erkaeltung nichts tun wollte, was das Gehirn gross anstrengt, habe ich mich fuer Videos gucken und Socken stricken entschieden. Und frau kann/darf im Flugzeug stricken. Ich hatte mir vor dem Flug extra billige kurze Rundstricknadeln aus Bambus gekauft, die die Sicherheitskontrolle problemlos passiert haben. Und auch die FlugbegleiterInnen hatten mit dem Stricken kein Problem. Kann natuerlich auch an Air Canada gelegen haben.

I intended to test on my flight to Montreal whether one is actually allowed to knit on a plane. As it was a seven hour long day flight, and I did not feel like doing anything that involves using the brain, I decided on knitting and watching videos instead. And yes, one can knit on planes. I had bought cheap circular needles made from bamboo beforehand, and they passed the security check without problems. And the flight attendants had no problem with me knitting (they were rather amused and impressed). It might have well been because I was on a Air Canada flight.

Dieses Paar wurde fertig: LexiSocks aus Regia 6-faedig, fuer’s Toechterchen. Sie hat sich die Wolle ausgesucht.

This pair of socks was knit on the plane: LexiSocks, knit with Regia 6-ply sock yarn. She selected the yarn.

Und der February Lady Sweater hat endlich seine Knoepfe bekommen. Ich finde, die Holzknoepfe passen recht gut dazu.

And the February Lady Sweater finally got its button. I think they really fit the cardigan.

So, und jetzt sollte ich mal meine Tasche packen und mich fertig machen – es geht gleich hier hin. Ich freu mich schon auf die Natur (und viel Wissenschaft).

And now I will pack my back and get ready – we soon departing to this place. I am really looking forward to nature (and lots of science).

Entry filed under: Stricken / Knitting. Tags: , .

Die verstrickte Dienstagsfrage 37/2012 Die verstrickte Dienstagsfrage 38/2012

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fromscratchhome  |  September 18, 2012 at 23:05

    How was Montreal?
    I like the sockettes. Do they stay on your feet well? Or do they fall off easily?

    Reply
    • 2. streepie  |  September 19, 2012 at 02:10

      I am still in Montreal – and I am enjoying it! The sockettes stay on my feet reasonably well, but O’ve made them slightly too long. But they will shrink a bit in the next wash.

      Reply
      • 3. fromscratchhome  |  September 19, 2012 at 22:38

        Nice to hear.🙂 I hope the rest of the trip goes well.
        I’ve been wanting to make some slippers / sockettes like those for a while now, and I might start with that pattern. Thanks again for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archive

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
follow us in feedly
Find me on ravelry

Find me on ravelry

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Categories


