Souvenirs

June 3, 2014 at 17:57 Leave a comment

Ich habe ja die letzten Tage auf Krete (genauer, in Chania) verbracht. Neben der Arbeit hatte ich auch ein bisschen Zeit, die (Alt)stadt und den Hafen zu erkunden. Und mir Sonnenbrand und Blasen an den Fuessen zu holen. Auf meinen Streifzuegen durch die mehr oder weniger von Touristen bevoelkerten Gassen haben ich dann auch festgestellt, dass auch in Griechenland gestrickt wird. Ich habe nicht nur eine aeltere Frau vor ihrem Haus sitzen und stricken sehen, sondern in vor einem kleinen Laden dies gefunden:

I spent the last few days in Crete (in Hania, to be exact). Next to work, I had a bit of time to explore the (old) town and the harbour. And to get sun burnt and blisters on my feet. During my forays through the little streets (encountering many to only few tourists), I realised the there is also some knitting going on in Greece. I saw an older woman sitting in front of her house, knitting, and found this in front of a small shop.

Strickpuppen

Wo es gestricktes gibt, sowie Nadeln und Garn, muss es auch ein Wollgeschaeft geben. Ich habe gleich 2 gefunden.

Where there is knitting and yarn and needles, there must be a yarn shop. I found two.

Erstmal einen “klassischen”, mit vielen griechischen Garnen, vor allem aus Acryl, dazwischen auch Baumwolle (mir unbekannter Marken). Delfino Yarns, Apokoronou Str. 13, Chania. Dort fand ich das:

At first, I found a fairly typical yarn store with many Greek yarns, mainly Acrylics, but also a few cotton yarns (from brands that I did not know). Delfino Yarns, Apokoronous Str. 13, Chania. There,  found that:

Schaetzchen2

Und dann bin ich bei Pleko in der Kriari Str. vorbeigekommen. Ein kleiner, ganz neuer Laden mit vielen exquisiten Garnen. Ich habe zwei wunderschoene Straenge Orielle von Louisa Harding mitgenommen. Alpaka mit etwas Metallic-Garn in den Farben “Breeze” und “Sapphire”. Heute morgen beim Koffer auspacken wurden sie gleich von Toechterchen in Beschlag genommen – weil sie blau sind und mit Glitzer.

And then I found Pleko in Kriari Street. A lovely, very new shop with rare and exquisite yarns. I bought two lovely skeins Orielle by Louisa Harding. Alpaca with little bit of metallic yarn in the colour-ways “Breeze” and “Sapphire”. When we unpacked the suitcase this morning, they were immediately claimed by my daughter because they were blue and glittered.

Schaetzchen1

So blau wie das Mittelmeer😉 Blue like the Mediterranean😉

photo

A view over the old harbour of Chania

photo5

Mediterranean Sea

photo 4

View from the harbour wall and light house

hafen

the harbour viewed from the harbour wall

 

 

Entry filed under: Reisen / Travel, Wolle / Yarn. Tags: .

May 2014 Progressing even further….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archive

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
follow us in feedly
Find me on ravelry

Find me on ravelry

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Categories


